Skip to content

AI · 2 November 2026 · 4 min read

Anthropic will offer up to $3.5 billion of shares in Japan. The filing does not price the listing

Reuters said on 2 November that a Tokyo filing puts new shares for Japanese investors at up to ¥552.9 billion. The money is for working capital, operating costs and capital spending. The filing does not state the size or the valuation of the US listing. A ceiling is not a sale that has cleared.

Raised black letters spelling Anthropic on a pale wall, with a blurred person in the foreground.
A Reuters photograph by Carlos Barría of the Anthropic sign at the Moscone Center in San Francisco, taken on 17 September 2026 during Dreamforce. It is not the Tokyo filing, and it is not a data centre.

Reuters reported on 2 November that Anthropic will sell up to ¥552.9 billion of shares in Japan as part of its US public listing. At the rate Reuters prints, $1 to ¥157.82, that is $3.5 billion. The new shares are to raise working capital and to fund operating expenses and capital expenditure. “Up to” is the width of the sentence. It is a ceiling in a filing, not cash that has been received, and not a count of shares anyone has been allotted. The same filing, Reuters wrote, does not state the size of the offering or the valuation of the company.

The valuation that has been discussed is a different sentence, and it is older. Reuters said some investors have talked about a figure of about $1.5 trillion. That discussion is not a line in Monday’s filing, and it is not a price. The comparison Reuters does put next to the Japan tranche is SpaceX’s listing in June, the largest yet: investors in Japan secured $2.2 billion of the $75 billion raised. Secured is the past tense. Anthropic’s figure is a ceiling that has not been tested. A larger ceiling is not a larger sale, and it is not evidence that the Japanese book will fill.

Bloomberg, the same morning, reported that the filing names the banks. Mizuho Securities will manage the Japanese portion. Goldman Sachs, Mitsubishi UFJ Morgan Stanley and Morgan Stanley MUFG are among the firms that will take orders. Mizuho Financial Group and Mitsubishi UFJ Financial Group are among the underwriters. Those names are Bloomberg’s account of the document. This desk has not read the filing. A bank mandated to take orders is not an order.

None of this is a machine, and it is not the loss in the draft this desk has already filed. That draft, as the Wall Street Journal’s account had it, put a half-year loss at $80.7 billion, most of it an accounting entry, and cloud contracts at about $450 billion. The registration statement filed later in October is a different document, and today’s Tokyo notice is a third. What Monday’s filing adds, on Reuters’s reading, is a place and a ceiling: Japan, up to $3.5 billion, for working capital and for spending that includes capital expenditure. It does not say which data centre, which chip, or which year the money is for. Until a prospectus the public can read prices the shares, the Japan tranche is an allowance, not a bill for power.